Chapter Award Winners

27 Jun, 2017

Announcing the 2017 SMPS DC Chapter Award Winners

Sarah Hasnain

Chapter Announcements  
Blog Types

Read time: 2 minutes, 8 seconds

Thank you to everyone who attended the SMPS DC Summer Celebration which took place at the historic Tonic at Quigley’s Pharmacy on June 13. The venue was the perfect location for this year’s event as guests had the ability to relax and network with each other in a cozy environment.

This event is one of our biggest events of the year as our chapter looks back at the accomplishments of our members and looks forward to the future with the election of our incoming board. The member awards program was led by SMPS DC President Laura Ewan, who brought a new level of humor and sincerity to the program. Our 2016/2017 award recipients are listed below.

The Ginny Solomon Golden Tuba Award

The Tuba award is given to a chapter member who has made a significant contribution to the marketing of professional services and whose accomplishments set the standards for excellence. Congratulations to our 2017 winner, Lauren Myers Young from BKV Group!

Golden Tuba 2017 Laure Myers Young
2017 Golden Tuba award winner Lauren Myers Young

The Rising Star Award

This award is given to a chapter member with less than five years of experience in the industry who has shown dedication to the DC chapter through committee involvement and has the potential to become one of the industry’s shining stars. Congratulations to Jessica Gillette from GORDON!

Kittner 20170613 7 1003
2017 Rising Star Award (& Pay It Forward Grant recipient) Jessica Gillette flanked by 17-18 President Pipper Mosley (left) and 16-17 President Laura Ewan (right)

The President’s Award

This award honors a board member for outstanding service to the chapter. Congratulations to Michael Knowles, CPSM from The Robert B. Balter Company!

Kittner 20170613 7 1013
2017 President' Award Winner Michael Knowles, CPSM

New Heights Volunteer Service Awards

The New Heights Awards honor committee members who have taken responsibility for major committee efforts:

  • Education Committee – Becca Starer
  • Career Advancement – Koren Stauffer
  • Community Outreach Committee – Alex Miller
  • Membership Committee – Deb Miller
  • PR/Communications – Lauren Vitrano
  • Special Events – Sarah Hasnain
  • SMRT/PRT – Elizabeth Tuico
  • Procurement – Beth Bryan

Pay It Forward Build Business Grant

This grant provides for a chapter member to attend Build Business in Indianapolis this July, including covering registration, airfare, hotel, and meals valued at about $2,700. Congratulations to Jessica Gillette from GORDON!


This grant covers full tuition to take part in the next class of SMPS University, a $3,250 value. Congratulations to Kim Metzinger from EYP!

CPSM Recognition

A CPSM is recognized as an individual who has met a rigorous standard of experience and expertise in marketing professional services and has demonstrated their knowledge of the practice and related disciplines through a thorough examination of marketing competency. Congrats to our members who achieved this certification during our program year:

Mary Noonan, CPSM

Amanda D’Luhy, CPSM

Ronalle Hawkins, CPSM

Stephanie Murdoch, CPSM

Ashley Schmidt, CPSM

Leadership Development Program

SMPS DC held our first Leadership Development Program, a four-part series designed to enhance the leadership, critical thinking, and communication skills of marketing and business development professionals in beginning or mid-manager roles. Participants learned how to identify and adapt their own personal leadership style, build upon and improve strategic business relationships, and develop a strategic plan to enhance their leadership skills to help meet career and organizational objectives. Congratulations to our first class of Leadership Development Program graduates:

Kyle Veater

Tori Ellis

Mary Noonan, CPSM

John Thornton

Katie Gregg

Morgan Zavertnik

Thanks again to all who attended and congratulations to all of our winners!

Sarah Hasnain, SMPS DC
Special Events Committee member
Business Development Coordinator
GeoConcepts Engineering Inc.