Summer Celebration03

29 Jun, 2012

SMPS DC Recognizes Outstanding Members at Summer Celebration

News You Can Use   Photo Gallery  
Blog Types

Read time: 3 minutes, 31 seconds

SMPS DC hosted the first annual Summer Celebration on June 6, 2012 at 1777 F St, NW – a LEED Gold Building located just one block from the White House. Now that the Chapter will be holding events all year round, we have retired the traditional “Year-End” event in favor of a celebration to kick off the summer months and recognize the ongoing efforts and achievements of the Chapter, Board, and membership.


The 2012 Summer Celebration included our annual awards and Board of Directors election, and honored the Chapter Marketing & Communications Awards winners.

MCA Awards

summer-celebration-GHTFrom left: Evan Thomas (GHT Limited), Ami Kelly (GHT Limited), Sylvia Montgomery (Hinge), and Paul O'Brien (GHT Limited)

The evening kicked-off with networking and a few words from Chapter President Joe Monahan, CPSM (Alpha Corporation), who then introduced Past-President Alison Carney, CPSM (Balfour Beatty) to present the 2012 Marketing & Communications Awards. The Marketing & Communications Awards are held by the Chapter every two years and recognize exemplary work and innovation in firm communications.

  • 1st Place - Promotional Campaign: Hickok Cole Architects
  • 1st Place - Special Event: Hickok Cole Architects
  • 1st Place - Tradeshow Marketing: Wight & Company
  • 1st Place - Web Site: GHT Limited
  • People’s Choice Award – GHT Limited
  • Best of Show Award – GHT Limited

2011/2012 and 2012/2013 Board of Directors


Following the presentation of the Marketing & Communications Awards, Joe once again stepped up to the podium to recognize the current Board of Directors and thank them for their time and support of SMPS. Joe presented each board member with a small token of appreciation.

Joe then introduced President Elect Kathleen Held, CPSM (Cini-Little) who then presented the incoming Board of Directors for the 2012/2013 program year. We are excited to have some new faces on board, and happy to welcome back our experienced vets as well! The new Board was unanimously elected. Congratulations to:

  • President – Kathleen Held, CPSM, Cini-Little International
  • Immediate Past President – Joe Monahan, CPSM, Alpha Corporation
  • President Elect – Tim Klabunde, Structural Engineering Group
  • Secretary – Vanessa Jovel, CPSM, EBA Ernest Bland Associates, P.C.
  • Treasurer – Jeff Davidson, CPSM
  • Communications/PR – Francescka (Frankie) Bailey, Frankie’s Folio
  • Communications/PR – Katie Sanner, William H. Gordon Associates, Inc.
  • Education – Kate Erdy, SmithGroup, Inc.
  • Membership – Crystal Stowe, McDonough Bolyard Peck
  • Membership – Tara Connell, ECS Mid-Atlantic, LLC
  • Lunch Programs – Hugo Amelink, CPSM, CTI Consultants, Inc.
  • Principals Roundtable – Jennifer Bottomley, CPSM, WBA an HGA Company
  • Special Events – Amanda Sanderson, GeoConcepts Engineering, Inc.
  • Special Events – Debbie Chen, Balfour Beatty Construction
  • Sponsorship – Justin Jacobs, Wetland Studies and Solutions, Inc.

DC Chapter Grants

Next on the agenda was the presentation of our Pay it Forward Grant and SMPS U Grant award winners by Kathleen Held, CPSM. Pay it Forward Grant: This Grant provides an all expense paid trip to attend Build Business. It covers one full registration, airfare/transportation, hotel and meals. Congratulations to Jennifer Boyer of DBI Architects, our 2012 Pay it Forward Grant Award Winner! SMPS University: The SMPS U Grant covers full tuition for one deserving member. Congratulations to Jennifer Bottomley, CPSM of WBA, an HGA Company, our 2012 SMPS U Grant Award Winner!

Member Recognition

summer-celebration-rising-starJoe Monahan (Alpha Corporation) presents Christa Montgomery (Cox Graae + Spack Architects) with the Rising Star Award

Last but not least, the Chapter recognized the outstanding efforts and commitment of the membership. Our awards programs honor marketers from all sectors of the A/E/C community and at all levels of experience.

New Heights Volunteer Service Award: The New Heights Awards honors committee members who have taken responsibility for major committee efforts. Each committee chair can select one committee member to receive this recognition at our annual end of the year meeting and awards program. The 2011/2012 recipients include:

  • Education – Laura Ewan, RTKL
  • Lunch Programs – Jennifer Boyer, DBI Architects
  • Membership – Christa Montgomery, Cox Graae + Spack Architects
  • Special Events – Debbie Chen, Balfour Beatty
  • Principals Roundtable – Kelley Milloy, BE&K
  • Communications/PR – Katie Sanner, William H. Gordon Associates
  • Sponsorship – Shelley Spencer, WBA, an HGA Company

The Rising Star Award: This award is given to a Chapter member with less than five years of experience in the industry who has shown dedication to the DC Chapter through committee involvement and has the potential to become one of the industry’s shining stars. The award is presented annually and is voted on by the membership.

Congratulations to Christa Montgomery of Cox Grae Spack, our 2012 Rising Star!

President’s Award: This award honors a board member for outstanding service to the Chapter.

Congratulations to Kathleen Held of Cini-Little International

Golden Tuba Recipient - Lesley Arnott RogersThe Ginny Solomon Golden Tuba Award: Open to a Chapter member who has made a significant contribution to the marketing of professional services and whose accomplishments set the standards for excellence. Nominations for this prestigious award are accepted annually, and a winner is determined by the Board of Directors.

Congratulations to Lesley Arnott Rogers of Athavale, Lystad & Associates, Inc., our 2012 Golden Tuba honoree!

SMPS DC would like to extend a heartfelt congratulations to all of our award winners, and a sincere thank you to the sponsors and members who continue to support the Chapter. We’ll see you this summer!

View the Photo Gallery ›

[flickr album=72157630209425334 num=10 size=Square]