Justin Jacobs

06 Jun, 2018

Summer Celebration and Slate for 2018-2019 SMPS DC Board

Justin Jacobs

Chapter Announcements  
Blog Types

Read time: 2 minutes, 6 seconds

Dear SMPS DC Members,

Summer is here! For SMPS DC, that means it’s time to celebrate another amazing year of fantastic programs; the dedication and hard work of our committee volunteers; and the passing of the torch to our incoming 2018-2019 Board of Directors.

On Wednesday, June 13, we will once again gather for our annual Summer Celebration event to recognize the achievements of the Chapter, Board, committee volunteers, sponsors, and members. Our host, SMPS DC President Pipper Mosley, will announce the winners of this year’s Rising Star, New Heights Volunteer, MCA, and Golden Tuba awards. Additionally, the 2018 MCA award winners will be on display and voting for People’s Choice will take place during the event.

Last, but certainly not least, we will utilize the Summer Celebration to vote into office the 2018–2019 Board.

As President–Elect, I am excited to build upon the strong reputation that the DC Chapter has earned within SMPS. Additionally, I’m looking forward to exploring new programs and partnerships that will engage our members and strengthen our reputation in the A/E/C industry as a whole – both individually and as an organization that is recognized for its value. I look forward to working with all of you as we move toward strategic planning this summer and as we roll out an exciting line up of programming beginning in September.

Slate of Incoming Board Members

I truly believe we have a group of incoming board members that have the potential to make 2018-2019 a milestone year in the DC chapter’s history. They are an impressive group of professionals representing diverse specialties and experience. It is my privilege and honor to present the following slate for the 2018-2019 SMPS DC Board:


Justin Jacobs – Associate, Director of Business Development and Marketing, GORDON


Jennifer Bottomley, CPSM, LEED Green Associate – Associate Vice President, HGA Architects and Engineers*

Past President:

Pipper Mosley, CPSM, LEED Green Associate – Principal, PM Designs Consulting


Ashley Campbell – Vice President, Marketing and Corporate Communications, HITT Contracting*


Tom Strandberg, PMP, PSP, CCP, LEED AP – Vice President, OCMI

Career Advancement:

Jen McGovern, CPSM – Mid-Atlantic Regional Marketing Manager, VHB

Community Outreach:

Melissa Blum – Proposal Development Strategist, MGAC


Susan Merrigan, FSMPS, CPSM – Senior Marketing Manager, SKIDMORE, OWINGS & MERRILL


Elizabeth (Beth) Bryan, PE, PTOE, PTP – Senior Associate, Walter P. Moore


Michael Knowles, CPSM – Marketing Director, The Robert B. Balter Company

Principals Round Table/Senior Marketers Roundtable (PRT/SMRT):

Deborah Miller – Director|Strategic Growth & Business Development, LandDesign*


Christy Jenkins, CPSM – Manager, National Marketing, Clark Construction Group*

Special Events:

Jessica Gillette, CPSM – Marketing Coordinator II, christopher consultants*

Special Events:

Katie Gregg – Marketing Coordinator, Simpson Gumpertz & Heger*


Derek Gallardo, LEED AP – Director of Business Development, GHT Limited

Chapter Administrator:

Stacey Hardy

In keeping with tradition, we will be putting the incoming board members (*) to a vote at the Summer Celebration. We hope you can join us next week to welcome the incoming board and raise a glass in appreciation of our volunteers and sponsors.

Justin Jacobs
President-Elect, SMPS DC