Blog Hdr 2014Summer Celebration

01 Jul, 2014

Summer Celebration Recap - Award Winners and Photo Gallery

Event Recap   News You Can Use   Photo Gallery  
Blog Types

Read time: 3 minutes, 15 seconds

Thank you to all members, sponsors, and friends for attending the 2014 Summer Celebration at Pinstripes of Georgetown. This event is one of the most important of the year as the Chapter takes a look back to recognize the achievements of our members, and looks forward to the future with the election of the incoming board.

The evening also included our SMPS DC Chapter 2014 Marketing Communications Awards presented by President-Elect Deborah Hayward of Creative Umbrella. Click here to view the honorees and see photos of the winning work.

The member awards program was led by SMPS DC President Tara Connell McCarthy of ECS Mid-Atlantic, who brought sincerity and humor to the proceedings. Our 2013/2014 award recipients are listed below. Congrats all!

Ginny Solomon Golden Tuba Award

[caption id="attachment_6047" align="alignleft" width="256"]Susan Merrigan, FSMPS, CPSM of Perkins+Will accepts The Ginny Solomon Golden Tuba Award. Susan Merrigan, FSMPS, CPSM of Perkins+Will accepts The Ginny Solomon Golden Tuba Award.[/caption]

Congratulations to Susan Merrigan, FSMPS, CPSM of Perkins+Will who received The Ginny Solomon Golden Tuba Award.

Susan sets exceedingly high standards for herself and her work and inspires the same in her fellow members. She has demonstrated leadership within the AEC community throughout her 17 year career. As a Certified Professional Services Marketer, she has “raised the bar” for marketing professionals in the A/E industry by her progressive, proactive and detailed approach to marketing her firms services to current as well as prospective clients. Susan has played a key role in the growth and prosperity of each firm that have been fortunate enough to have her on board.

Over the years she has taken many leadership roles serving on various committees as a member and chair, and served as Chapter President and SMPS DC’s very first Fellows Champion. SMPS DC is pleased to award Susan with the Golden Tuba in recognition of her professionalism and integrity, and her outstanding contributions to SMPS DC and to the A/E/C industry.

Melissa Blum with AEI Engineers, our 2014 Rising Star!

The Rising Star Award

Congratulations to Melissa Blum with AEI Engineers, our 2014 Rising Star!

This award is given to a Chapter member with less than five years of experience in the industry who has shown dedication to the DC Chapter through committee involvement and has the potential to become one of the industry’s shining stars. Melissa was recognized in part for her outstanding work coordinating the Chapter’s Community Outreach activities.

[caption id="attachment_6054" align="alignleft" width="256"]Frankie Bailey accepts the Presidents Award Frankie Bailey with SMPS DC President Tara Connell McCarthy[/caption]

President’s Award

Congratulations to Laura Ewan of RTKL and Frankie Bailey of Frankie’s Folio who both received the President’s Award.

This award honors a board member for outstanding service to the Chapter. Laura was recognized for revitalizing the Chapter's CPSM program - increasing participation in the study group/bootcamp by over 50%. Frankie received her award for dedication to the DC Chapter and SMPS, including six years on the SMPS DC board, and for her efforts in developing the Chapter's award-winning website and graphics.

New Heights Volunteer Service Award

The New Heights Awards honor committee members who have taken responsibility for major committee efforts. Each committee chair selected one committee member for the 2013/2014 year. Recipients include:

  • Education Committee – Amy Cuddy, CPSM, Ayers Saint Gross
  • Lunch Programs – Robyne Hamilton, Shen Milsom Wilke
  • Membership – Lexi Stock, Insurance Associates
  • Special Events – Mary Noonan, Wiley Wilson
  • Principal’s Roundtable – Martin Sharpless, Skanska
  • Communications/PR – Kyle Veater, David M. Schwarz Architects
  • Sponsorship – Alana Alsop, Associated Builders and Contractors, Inc.

[caption id="attachment_6063" align="alignleft" width="220"]New Heights Volunteer Service Award recipient Alana Alsop New Heights Volunteer Service Award recipient Alana Alsop[/caption]

[caption id="attachment_6064" align="alignleft" width="220"]New Heights Volunteer Service Award recipient Kyle Veater New Heights Volunteer Service Award recipient Kyle Veater[/caption]


Congratulations to Kate Erdy, CPSM, our 2014 recipient of the SMPS University Grant!

Kate joined the SMPS Washington DC Chapter in 2008. In 2012, she received the Rising Star Award, joined the SMPS DC Board of Directors and earned her CPSM. We wish Kate luck as she embarks on her journey through the SMPS U Experience.

Pay It Forward Grant

Congratulations to Judith Schneider, our 2014 recipient of the Pay It Forward Grant!

The SMPS DC Chapter created the Pay it Forward grant to send one deserving member to the SMPS National Build Business conference each year. Judith has been a passionate member of our Chapter since her arrival to us two years ago. Her hard work and passion for the Guru Guidance Program has been amazing. We look forward to seeing her at Build Business.

CPSM Recognition

Congratulations to Crystal Stowe of McDonough Bolyard and Peck and Amy Cuddy with Ayers Saint Gross for earning their CPSM Certifications.

A CPSM is recognized as an individual who has met a rigorous standard of experience and expertise in marketing professional services and has demonstrated their knowledge of the practice and related disciplines through a thorough examination of marketing competency. Congrats to Crystal and Amy on this hard-won accomplishment.

Enjoy More Photos from the Event

View on Facebook »

[srizonfbalbum id=2]