10 Jul, 2015

Summer Celebration Recap – Award Winners and Photo Gallery

Event Recap   News You Can Use   Photo Gallery  
Blog Types

Read time: 2 minutes, 1 second

Thank you to all members, sponsors, and friends for attending the 2015 Summer Celebration at Fathom Gallery. This event is one of the most important of the year as the chapter takes a look back to recognize the achievements of our members, and looks forward to the future with the election of the incoming board.

The member awards program was led by immediate past-president Tara McCarthy of BE&K Building Group, who brought sincerity and humor to the proceedings. Our 2014/2015 award recipients are listed below. Congratulations to all of our winners!

The Ginny Solomon Golden Tuba Award

Congratulations to Joe Monahan, CPSM of Alpha Corporation!


The Rising Star Award

This award is given to a Chapter member with less than five years of experience in the industry who has shown dedication to the DC Chapter through committee involvement and has the potential to become one of the industry’s shining stars. Congratulations to Ashley Kimery of Walter P Moore!

ashley kimery

The President's Award

This award honors a board member for outstanding service to the Chapter. Congratulations to Crystal Stowe of Markon Solutions!


New Heights Volunteer Service Awards

The New Heights Awards honor committee members who have taken responsibility for major committee efforts. Each committee chair selected one committee member for the 2013/2014 year. Congratulations to this year's recipients, including:

  • Community Outreach Committee – Melissa Blum, Affiliated Engineers
  • Education Committee – Julie Smiley, Woods Peacock Engineering
  • Lunch Programs Committee – Daniela Maldonado, Integral Group
  • Membership Committee – Lauren Zuza
  • PR/Communications Committee – Jennifer Trezza, WDG Architecture
  • Principals Roundtable Committee – Martin Sharpless, Skanska USA Building
  • SMPS University Grant – Kathleen Held, CPSM, Cini-Little International
  • Special Events Committee – J. Dayle Wine, Perkins Eastman
  • Sponsorship Committee – Justin Jacobs, Gordon

Pay It Forward Build Business Grant

The SMPS DC Chapter created the Pay it Forward grant to send one deserving member to the SMPS National Build Business conference each year. Congratulations to this year's recipient:

  • Corinn Bovi, Manhattan Construction Company

Education Scholarships

Congratulations to this year's recipients, including:

  • Stacey Ehring, Shapiro & Duncan
  • Melissa Trotman Hollinshead, HITT Contracting
  • Christa Montgomery, SmithGroupJJR

CPSM Recognition

A CPSM is recognized as an individual who has met a rigorous standard of experience and expertise in marketing professional services and has demonstrated their knowledge of the practice and related disciplines through a thorough examination of marketing competency. Congratulations to this year's recipients, including:

  • Ashley Cullen, CPSM, Syska Hennessy Group
  • Jennifer McGovern, CPSM, Kimley Horn and Associates
  • Kelley Ritchie, CPSM, Turner Construction

MCA Winners

  • Promotional Campaign – Second Place – EYP Inc.
  • Promotional Campaign – First Place – Hickok Cole Architects
  • Special Event – First Place – Hickok Cole Architects
  • Direct Mail – First Place – Timmons Group
  • Website Redesign – Honorable Mention – Keast & Hood
  • Recruitment & Retention – Honorable Mention – Perkins Eastman
  • Tradeshow Marketing – Honorable Mention – EYP, Inc.
  • Promotional Campaign – Best In Show – Hickok Cole Architects
  • People’s Choice – Perkins Eastman

Photo Gallery

[srizonfbalbum id=8]

Enjoy more photos from the event on our Facebook page!